

Government of Tamil Nadu Department of Employment and Training

Course: TNPSC Combined Civil Services Examination - IV(Group IV / VAO)

Subject: Indian Economy

Topic : Planning Commission

© Copyright

The Department of Employment and Training has prepared the TNPSC Combined Civil Services Examination - IV (Group-IV / VAO) study material in the form of e-Content for the benefit of Competitive Exam aspirants and it is being uploaded in this Virtual Learning Portal. This e-Content study material is the sole property of the Department of Employment and Training. No one (either an individual or an institution) is allowed to make copy or reproduce the matter in any form. The trespassers will be prosecuted under the Indian Copyright Act.

It is a cost-free service provided to the job seekers who are preparing for Competitive Exams.

Commissioner,

Department of Employment and Training.

Planning Commission

- The Planning Commission is an autonomous body of consultation.
- This is a non-governmental organization established by the Union Cabinet.
- The Planning Commission was constituted on March 15, 1950. This committee will create a comprehensive plan for India's future every five years. The Indian Prime Minister is the chairman of the Planning Commission.
- The First chairman of the Planning Commission was Jawaharlal Nehru. A deputy chairman will be appointed. He is the real executive of Commission.
- He is responsible for creating a five year draft report, He is appointed by the Cabinet. But he is not a member of the Cabinet. He can attend the meeting without the right to vote.
- Gulzarilal Nanda, the first deputy chairman of the Planning Committee.
- Last deputy chairman is Montek Singh Ahluwalia.
- The planning department minister and the finance minister are appointed as its members.
- The main tasks of the Planning Commission are to evaluate the country's resources, to develop projects, and to divide resources in accordance with the priority of the projects.
- Each state will have a State Planning Commission.
- Chief Minister of the state is the Chief of State Planning Commission.

National Development Council (NDC)

- Project draft of planning commission is approved by NDC
- National Development Council was established on August 6, 1952.
- Chairman of the National Development Council is the Prime Minister
- National Cabinet Ministers, State CM, Finance Ministers, Subordinate Governors, Governors are the members of NDC.
- NDC is a non constitutional body enacted by parliamentary law.

Features of National Development Council

- National Development Team approves five year plan next to parliament. However, it can only provide advice to the Planning Commission.
- Furthermore, its recommendations do not control the results of the Planning Commission.
- National Development Board provides its recommendations to the central and state governments.
- National Development Committee convenes and conducts meeting at least twice a year.

National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog

- Government has replaced the erstwhile **Planning Commission** with the **NITI** (**National Institution for Transforming India**) Aayog on January 1, 2015.
- NITI Aayog has a unique innovative framework to facilitate states to participate in policy making. The Aayog has been mandated to serve as a policy think-tank for the central as well as state governments and has **Prime Minister as its Chairperson**.
- NITI Aayog represents an innovative and appropriate institutional framework to replace Planning Commission, which had lost its relevance and effectiveness in the post-reform era.
- With a new focus on sound strategic and technical advice covering the entire gamut of socioeconomic policy issues within a unique framework of Cooperative Federalism, NITI Aayog is expected to transform Indian Economy into a formidable economic super power in the years to come.
- Unlike its predecessor, NITI Aayog will have all Chief Ministers and Governors on its Governing Council in the spirit of cooperative federalism.
- Besides, it will also have Regional Councils, which would be formed to address specific issues and contingencies impacting more than one state or a region.
- The Aayog will also have experts, specialists and practitioners with relevant domain knowledge nominated by the Prime Minister as special invitees.

Finance Commission

- As per Article 280, Finance Commission must be constituted within two years after implementation of constitution. Finance Commission is constituted in every Five year by The President.
- Finance Commission Comprises 1 Chairman and 4 Members.
- Finance Commission is a Constitutional and Quasi Judicial body.
- It submits its recommendation based on Central and State resources.
- Chairman of First Finance Commission K.C. Niyogi
- 14th Chairman of Finance Commission Y.V. Reddy (2015-2020)
- 15th Chairman of Finance Commission N.K. Singh (2020-2025)